Last checked against sources:

Is the PAP spec out?

Not yet. As of Oct 8, 2026, the Personal Agent Protocol v0.1 specification hasn't been published. Sierra promised it for "later this month" in its October 6, 2026 announcement.

This page is the tracker. Every item Sierra or Meta said would come next, what state it's in, and when we last looked. When v0.1 drops we'll mark it here first and publish an annotated read the same day.

What was promised, and where it stands

ItemStatusPromisedDetail
v0.1 specificationNot publishedLater in October 2026Not published. Sierra wrote that it plans to publish v0.1 "later this month" in its October 6 post.
Design workshopsAnnouncedAfter v0.1Announced for "interested parties". No schedule or sign-up page is public.
Reference implementationNot publishedNo datePromised "to help developers get started". Nothing released.
Partner working groupAnnouncedOngoingMeta says a partner working group will build out the rest of the protocol. Membership isn’t public; Decagon says it has joined.
License and governanceNot statedNot statedPAP is called an open standard, but no license, governing body or contribution process has been published.
Official repository or websiteNot statedNot statedThe Sierra post links to no spec site and no code repository.

Floated for later, no dates

Sierra's post lists three ideas with "could", not "will". None is part of the announced first version.

  • More detailed permissions. Limits on specific actions, set by customers and companies. Today the announced split is just read-only or write.
  • Push notifications. The company tells the personal agent the moment a flight is delayed or an order ships.
  • Payment extensions. The agent completes a purchase without the customer sharing card details.

What we're watching for in v0.1

The announcement leaves real gaps. These are the questions we'll answer first when the spec is out:

  • How does an agent discover a company? Sierra says "on the company's website", but not with what file or format.
  • What do read-only and write map to in OAuth terms? Scopes, claims, something new?
  • How does a business tell a personal agent from an ordinary bot before sign-in, during a guest session?
  • How does the PAP session hand off to an MCP server or the company's own agent?
  • Who governs the spec, and under what license? Neither has been named.

Changelog

Updates to this tracker. Also available as RSS.

  • · Partner lists, PACT and comparisons. Added Meta’s partner list (NiCE, Decagon), Decagon’s PACT, the Muse and Amazon timeline, and comparisons with MCP, A2A, UCP, ACP, TAP and PACT. Spec v0.1 still not published.
  • · pap.md launched. Overview, architecture, glossary and partners, based on the Sierra announcement.

Sources

  1. Introducing Personal Agent Protocol · Sierra (Bret Taylor, Clay Bavor), Oct 6, 2026 · primary source
  2. Genesys, NiCE Join Sierra, Meta on Open Standard for Personal AI Agents · CMSWire
  3. Meta joins with group of companies to tame 'chaos' of doing business with AI bots · CNBC, Oct 6, 2026

pap.md is independent and not affiliated with Sierra, Meta or any PAP partner. Facts here come from the sources listed on each page.